Tags · Uncategorized

The Twelve Days of Christmas Tag

Red Plants National Wear Red Day Facebook Event Cover

Behold, my first tag!

Deep breaths, Eliza…don’t get too excited here.

Merry Christmas, my dears! Or whatever winter holiday (Hanukkah, Saturnalia, the solstice, etc) you happen to subscribe to. As a Christian girl, I happen to do Christmas…which is how this tag came to be.

The rules are simple (ish):

1. Link back to the person who tagged you.

2. Answer the questions (all twelve of them)

3. Tag some more people!

4. Oh, and…do it between December 25th and January 6th. “Twelve Days of Christmas,” after all.

Now, the questions:

  1. What is your favorite part about Christmas?
    • The fact that I get to spend it with my family. Also that it comes “but once each year”. I love Christmas, but I couldn’t deal with it if it came more than once every 365 days 🙂
  2. What is your favorite Christmas carol?
    • Ding Dong Merrily on High.  It’s difficult to choose just one…it’s tied with  Angels We Have Heard on High, God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen, and a host of German ones.
  3. Name one Christmas tradition you will never ever break.
    • We’re not Catholic but my father was raised that way, so I have literally never eaten meat on Christmas Eve. It’s all fish around here.
  4. Favorite holiday dessert?
    • Elisenlebkuchen
  5. How much Christmas baking did you do this year?
    • Illegal amounts. I have Christmas cookies out the wazoo. I also have a teenaged male in my house, so I know exactly where they’ll be going.
  6. What is your favorite Christmas movie?
    • White Christmas. Hands down.
  7. When did you learn that Santa was in fact not real?
    • Ten-ish? I had an inkling that he didn’t before then, but I so badly wanted to believe that he was, and kept the charade up for a few years after that. Oh, who am I kidding? I still do!
  8. What is your least favorite part about Christmas?
    • It’s become so over-commercialized. What happened to a good, old-fashioned Christmas at home, without all that junk advertised on the radio?
  9. White Christmases–yay or nay?Related imageSnow, snow, snow, snow, snow! (Preferably in four-part harmony)
  10. What is your favorite Christmas book (excluding the Bible)?Image result for korvatunturi santaThis book is probably my favorite. The illustrations alone make it worth reading.
  11. Do you celebrate on Christmas Eve or Day?
    • Christmas Eve. It’s a non-American thing.
  12. Be honest: do you know all the lyrics to “The Twelve Days of Christmas?”

I certainly do. To save time, let’s just name the gifts:

Twelve drummers drumming, eleven pipers piping, ten ladies dancing, nine lords a-leaping, eight maids a-milking, seven swans a-swimming, six geese a-laying, fiiiiive golden rings! Four calling birds, three French hens, two turtle doves…and a partridge in a pear tree!

And as my present to you all, here’s Dear Nuala, a…creative…take on the well-known carol. It begins “Dear Nuala, thank you very much for your kind gift of the partridge in a pear tree…” and escalates to “Listen manure-face, I hope you’ll be haunted by the strains of ten pipers piping…”

Next, I tag Rae–Merry Christmas!

“May your days be merry and bright…

And may all your Christmases be white”

Yours, etc.

Miss Elizabeth

Leave a comment