This is most likely the last post of my Homeschooling series. Yes, I’m sad, but I’m also excited to get back to the world of Jane Austen. I’ve had ideas stewing…

In all fairness, I shouldn’t act as if this were the end of everything, because it isn’t. I will publish other Homeschooling posts, and I will probably publish other series. But it’s nearing the end of the school year, and five seems like a good number.

This last post is dedicated to the question I’ve been asking myself lately…and have subjected many, if not all, of my homeschooling friends:

Would you homeschool your children?

The answers I’ve received have ranged from the definite yes-or-no to the unintentionally hilarious. The highlights:

“I would–if my husband was a millionaire.”

“Sure! But I’d be more relaxed than my mom.”

We all say that.

“What kids?”

“I don’t know…theater career and homeschooling? So…yes, but no.”

“I don’t know. But I’m going to live on a farm, have my own sheep and chickens and goats, and make my own clothes!”

This one didn’t really answer the question, but it was hilarious, so I felt it deserved mentioning.

Me? Off the bat, I’d answer yes.

There are other factors, of course (see : Homeschooling isn’t for everyone). It would depend on a) the children, b) my mental state, and c) my husband. Although absolute unwillingness to homeschool is a deal-breaker (suitors have been duly warned). Then there is the money involved, and yes, the fact that I have a short temper. I fear that if I spent my days teaching these theoretical children a subject I truly hated (math) I might go slightly gaga.

But what about the joys of spending all your time with them, you ask? First off, I’d like to point out that I know firsthand that when there are small children in a house, you are spending all of your time with them, and you begin to long for time away from them. And apparently, the children I’ve spent my life with are well-mannered. I can’t imagine what would happen if my (once again, theoretical) children were even less well behaved than my family’s. I might start acting like this:

captain-von-trapp-profile

 

I’m honestly a mix of all the answers I got from my friends–down to the sheep-and-chicken one. I’d love to bake bread with my children, teach them the difference between Haiti and Tahiti, and introduce them to Jane Austen. I love the fact that homeschoolers are more polite (we regularly refer to people as Mr. or Mrs.), and that you can actually have an interesting conversation with them about just about anything.

So, my original answer, the gut instinct, was right: I would homeschool my kids. And I still would, even after overthinking it.

“But only if my husband was a millionaire.”

Would you homeschool your children?

If you do/ did/ would, do you have a specific reason?

And lastly, brick-and-mortar vs. homeschool. Debate.

Yours, etc.

Miss Elizabeth

3 thoughts on “Homeschooler, Part V

  1. Yes, I agree. I think I’ll homeschool my children, but maybe not all of them. Some of my siblings have gone to public school and it works better for them. I loved your points though and I agree!
    I could get into an endless debate about homeschool vs. brick-and-mortar. Well, I HAVE gotten into endless debates about it. :p I so wish I had time to do so now, but I simply don’t.
    I’ve loved your Homeschooler posts, Miss Elizabeth!

    Like

    1. Glad you liked them! Yes, it would probably be best to give the theoretical children a choice. I know my sister would be simply miserable at home.
      Anytime you’d like to debate, I’m free 🙂

      Like

  2. I said I wouldn’t …well, maybe I considered it a little. But I knew what I was getting into, and I’m not really a kid person (did I just say that?) And here we are – homeschooling. I’m not a millionaire, my husband isn’t a millionaire, no farm, just us.

    Reason? A special needs kiddo who doesn’t fit into the public school box at all.

    Although if that brick -and-mortar Sudbury school opens up near us, I’m going to have to re-evaluate again. That’s a super awesome school model!

    Like

Leave a Reply

