In my previous post, I began a who-knows-how-long series on homeschooling. I consider myself to be an authority on the subject, considering that I am, after all, homeschooled. This post, I think, is about the ‘funny stuff’: all the humour related to the fascinating and mysterious world of homeschoolers.68369d5a3c198569034c0c92fd9824b9

So: questions. In no particular order, here are some of the questions we get asked on a semi-regular basis:

1. No school today, young lady?

I actually get asked this question more often as I get older. Am I looking younger or something?

2. So…homeschooling…

Yes. Homeschooling. I stay home, I take college-level classes, read all print material which comes through my house, and consider the Encyclopedia Britannica to be my go-to resource. What do you do?

3. Do you have homework?

It’s all homework, buddy.

4. How do you talk to people?

Seriously. You’re asking me how I talk to people?

d2ccb24dec6798999303d8f1e4117df0

6. Are you, like, Amish?

No. Next question, please.

7. So…what exactly do you do?

While it isn’t complete, I think the following picture describes it pretty well: homeschool-meme

I feel the need to point out that I actually do real schoolwork. Blogging is more of a hobby–and distraction. But what are hobbies for, but to distract us from necessary chores?

8. Do you hate it?
I can’t think of a better answer than Rae’s:
 NO I HATE IT THAT’S WHY I DO IT EVERY YEAR EVEN THOUGH I HAVE THE OPTION TO GO TO A PUBLIC SCHOOL.
The thing with most homeschoolers is that we are not forced into it. There are some families who homeschool for their own reasons, but many of us are here because we had such a miserable time in school that home was the best alternative. We always have the option of going to school. We just choose not to take it.
9. Do you have friends?
No, I’m a poor, antisocial hermit who spends her time in a basement. Of course have friends. I prefer to think of them as “kindred spirits”, and they come in all shapes, sizes, and ages. Some of my favourites are the occupants of my grandmother’s retirement home, where I sometimes go to play the piano. Because I’m an old soul at heart, I get along much better with my elders than my peers, and they get along with me. So yes, I have friends, and I’m blessed to have them.

If I missed any questions, please send me your favourites. This next part is a compilation of some of the best and weirdest homeschooling memes, jokes, and pictures. Think of it as my Collins Collage, just the homeschooled edition.

Yours, etc.
Miss Elizabeth
5 thoughts on “Homeschooler, Part II

  1. YAY MISS ELIZABETH!!! (I just adore homeschooling and therefore things like this that talk about it.)

    Haha, your homeschooling sounds a lot like mine did.

    Yes, all homework. 🙂

    I DON’T TALK TO PEOPLE BECAUSE I HAVE NO VOCAL CHORDS.
    Obviously.

    Sigh. No, it’s called HOMESCHOOLED, not Amish, but a couple of my good friends used to be, is that good enough?

    Hahaha, true, pretty accurate. And exactly, you said it perfectly, “But what are hobbies for, but to distract us from necessary chores?”

    Hahaha, glad you liked my very sarcastic answer.

    Nope, no friends. Cause you don’t count anymore.
    Okay, so you can see that my first inclination to answer a lot of these is to sarcastically say the opposite of what is true; no, I hate homeschool, I don’t talk to people, I don’t have friends… Obviously.

    AND I LOVE THE COLLAGE.
    LOVE.

    And I adore this beautiful, witty, and relatable post. It’s so nice to see someone who understands.

    Like

Leave a Reply

